Skip to content

developing negatives

Negatives and pictures.

What we are and what we show the world?

When we are one negatives – and we only negatives, vs. when we are one negatives who needs to develop into two pictures. The process of developing in a darkroom –  delicate and complicated. Do we have complete guarantee that the picture will match the negatives, or at least their expectation?

Negatives and pictures.

Do we really understand the process? Are we strong enough to risk the pureness of a negative to develop it into a timeless picture?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Martine #

    Good question my dear… I only know that working in a darkroom was one of my best experiences and to see how the picture becomes “a reality” was, at least for me, like seeing a baby born. Amazing experience, amazing memories I have from those years, and yet now, I´m giving my photo enlarger to a friend… hope she experiences the same!

    November 6, 2010
  2. dufmanno #

    Same here with the photo enlarger.
    I loved mine but it was a space hogging beast from another era. Plus I had to get all the chemicals out of my bathroom when I had kids.
    Definately miss those quiet hours in the dark feeling around for the switch on my red light and watching the negatives turn into real photos.

    November 8, 2010
  3. Arthur Park #

    Yes, we are strong enough – and no, we don’t always understand the process.
    Maybe after.

    November 8, 2010
  4. i never get over what people see me as and what i feel like inside. it’s polar opposites. it’s like the emperor’s new clothes. if only i could become the image that people have of me.

    November 10, 2010

Leave a comment