Skip to content

Update

Today is one of those Mondays where I feel restless enough to be on top of my game on the productivity department. At my desk it works perfectly on a time we have more to do than time to do it. It also helps to clean up the mac and by default, the nearly 100 messages on the gmail account.

Why don´t you write anymore? 

This comes from somebody whom has read every single one of my posts, but never has left a single comment and somehow shocks me.

Did something change? and when?

Some months ago I got to know this really cool blogger whom has managed to control her anonymity quite well. Over coffee we talked about great it is to be anonymous, to be able to vomit your most deep feeling without retaliations, to be brutally honest, and dark enough to be incredibly interesting…

At some point, the comments, the feedback, gives you as much (if not more) pleasure than the freedom to say whatever you want out loud, and the hints give us away.

Some people have figure out who I am, and now things have changed

Why do we blog, I reflected on my way home, why I did start blogging, and why and when things started to changed, and more interesting, the price I (we) had to pay when things change. When others put a face on your words, when your love ones know about how you feel through a declaration made public for everyone to know… When then you risk to hurt those love ones or to instigate misinterpretations…

I wondered if blogging has become a alternate route to personal conversations, a route to avoid direct confrontations, a route where the end may be either getting reassurance from the unknown people or sour confrontations from the known love ones…

… Then what?

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. MT #

    Hei !
    Finfine tankar Silvia.
    Den virituelle verda er ikkje så stor. Bloggar vert lest, sletta og starta opp att. Gjennom twitter og instagram legg vi sjølve att spor. 1 pluss 1 er 2 og livet vert offentleg, iallefall den delen vi sjølve vel å legge ut.
    Har tenkt ein del på dette med facebook også. Det vert lagt ut ting der som vi tenkjer kan gå til ALLE, det som kanskje er av det overfladiske slaget. Så får ein hurrarop og likes.
    Kva gjer det med oss, denne kunstige avstanden som skjermen skaper mellom oss?

    Marieklem

    October 21, 2013
    • På et tidspunkt må man å konfrontere virkeligheten. Hvis man har vanskelige følelser som man ikke tør å bringe til bordet (og bruke bare blogging verden) trenger man enten konfrontere dem eller slå dem av og gjemme dem (med alle de dårlige konsekvenser)

      Min bristepunktet var å innse at det var mye bedre å ta problemer ansikt til ansikt på en privat måte og gå vise respect til de som jeg elsker.

      Man kan skrive, men med respekt… 🙂

      October 21, 2013
  2. People write for different reasons. To communicate, to be seen, for the attention, because they feed on conflict. The reason changes as time passes – and how public or anonymous you are, affects how you allow yourself to write.

    To have your real name attatched to your blog or your texts, takes away the freedom to be totally honest – if you care for your reputation. It also forces you to be decent, like you are decent when you speak with people face to face.

    Totally honest is not worth being. No one is. No one should be. You see it in the commentary in the newspapers, people spreading their honesty like poison – and nothing good grows out of it.

    I used to mix facts and fiction in my writing. Not a good idea. My readers did not know what was fact, and what was fiction. I used to think it would make my wrinting more interesting – and yes, it got interesting – but in a way not intended.

    People stop writing for different reasons.

    To not be seen, to not communicate, to not have the attention – and because they’re not anonumous anymore.

    October 21, 2013
  3. GayinLA #

    I like this window into your thoughts. Not a regular post, but a directed introspection. Thank you!

    November 20, 2013
  4. dufmanno #

    The very same type of thing befell me, with the discovery of the blog by people I knew- and my reluctance to be as open as I had been previously.
    Strangely, all those closest to me had read it for years- it was not very well known acquaintances who found it that made me worry.

    December 20, 2013

Leave a comment