Skip to content

Dad´s wisdom (recap of 2012)

– Silvia, you have to treat people like fruit.
-What do you mean?

Dad loves his sayings, and as I grow older they make more and more sense. Conversations with him turn most of the time on tools to meditate when I am alone in bed, and this time is not different. This year has been a very special one, for the good and for the bad.

– You like the healthy fruit on your bowl, right?
-Yes.

I have been a single mom since my first child was born. Despite being married, I was alone; despite I have made peace with it, some days are harder than others. For some people, like for me, alone is a perfect good equation. When alone becomes a couple, and alone is the only equation one knows, things get very complicated. Concepts like patience, negotiation, compromise and love reach a whole new level. Aware that I am totally handicapped when it comes to (grown up) relationships, this year, with A moving on with us, the equation has been a tough one to change.

I am totally overwhelmed with the positive this math had brought into our lives.

– What do you do when a piece of fruit starts going bad?

-Umm…
-You can´t fix it.
-No, but I can cut the bad part and keep the rest.

I lay in bed and stare at the ceiling, remembering dad´s words, and I continue thinking about people, and fruit, and friends. Friends… Those ones whom this year were close have become closer, others whom (I thought) close, have become rotten fruit – or maybe there were rotten to begin with but I didn’t see it from the beginning.

-When a piece of fruit goes bad, throw it to the garbage. There is where it belongs.
-That is radical, dad.
-No. You keep it in the bowl, you risk that it will rotten the other one fruit, so the smartest thing is to get rid of it, once and for all.

I have a bit of a doubt taking such a radical decision -on my personal scale lays on one side the naive part that thinks I can save the world and on the other, the one that says “fuck it. I am done with this shit”.

My dad loves his sayings, and I begin liking them also. In fact, my favorite right now is what goes around, comes around… But since I am quite busy, I will let people screw up and let karma shit-slap them on the face…

KarmaQuote_large

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love it!

    January 4, 2013
  2. Nice, my friend. A father’s words of wisdom should never go unheeded.

    January 4, 2013
    • Many times I dont see the meaning at first.. but later on, when I really think about them, they “hit” me 🙂

      January 7, 2013
  3. I guess now that the bad fruit is carried to the garbage, and is not smelling anymore – that it’s forgotten.

    January 4, 2013
  4. MT #

    Litt opprydning kan vere fint ja 🙂

    Godt Nytt År !
    Marieklem

    January 6, 2013
  5. ay , Silvia, your daddy’s a wise man, and (to stay with the metaphor) as every foodie knows; real fruit, fruit of the land, has got spots and spotless fruit’s got no taste …..

    Hepp!

    January 7, 2013

Leave a comment